Car Insurance in Virginia
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.
Virginia Car Insurance
Virginia law requires that all drivers have a way to pay for injuries or property damage resulting from a car accident. You can satisfy this financial responsibility law by EITHER:
- Purchasing car insurance.
- Paying Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles to drive uninsured.
Read more about Virginia car insurance laws, uninsured drivers fees, policy rates, and discounts.
Car Insurance Requirements
If you choose to purchase auto insurance to fulfill your financial responsibility, you must buy Virginia liability car insurance to help cover the costs of injuries and property damage to others you caused in a car accident.
The following minimums apply to your liability coverage:
- $25,000 for injuries per person per accident.
- $50,000 for total injuries per accident.
- $20,000 for property damage per accident.
You are also required to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to help pay for your injuries or property damage after an accident caused by either:
- An uninsured driver.
- A driver who does not have enough insurance coverage to pay for your injuries or property damage.
Your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage must match the minimums of your liability car insurance:
- $25,000 for injuries, per person per accident.
- $50,000 for total injuries per accident.
- $20,000 for property damage per accident.
Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee
If you are registering your car, you must certify whether you have Virginia car insurance.
If you are unwilling or unable to get insurance at the time, you must pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to the Virginia DMV. (This does not include registration fees.)
This $500 fee fulfills your financial responsibility and allows you to drive uninsured for 12 months.
Understand that paying the VA uninsured motor vehicle fee DOES NOT mean you have insurance and WILL NOT protect you financially in case of an accident.
If you get into a car accident, you must pay for all damages and injuries for which you are found responsible.
While payment of the fee lets you drive uninsured for 12 months, the fee can be prorated if you wish to be uninsured for a shorter time period.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage
If you purchase auto insurance to fulfill your financial responsibility requirements, you may also want to consider buying additional coverage.
When shopping for and comparing car insurance quotes, ask about the following types of optional coverage:
- Collision – This will pay for damages to your car after a traffic accident.
- Comprehensive – This will help cover non-accident related incidents, such as vandalism.
- Medical expenses – This will help pay for your medical bills after an accident that you caused.
NOTE: While collision and comprehensive insurance are optional, lenders can require it. See below for more information.
Vehicle Loans and Force-Placed Insurance
VA law does not require you to purchase collision/comprehensive coverage; however, banks or finance companies that have financed your car can require you to purchase these coverage types.
If you do not purchase collision and comprehensive coverages, your lender may place your car under force-placed insurance and charge you for the premium.
Force-placed insurance is meant to protect the lender (not you); it will not satisfy your state-mandated financial responsibility.
VA Auto Insurance Violation Penalties
With the help of reporting from Virginia car insurance companies, the VA DMV can electronically track your car insurance status.
If you are found to be driving without insurance and you have not paid the uninsured driver fee, you will face suspension of all of the following:
- Driver’s license.
- Vehicle registration.
- License plates.
To reinstate all of the above, you must:
- Pay a $500 fine.
- File and maintain a proof of insurance certification (SR-22) for 3 years.
- NOTE: Maintaining an SR-22 means you MUST purchase car insurance (you cannot use the uninsured driver fee option to fulfill your financial responsibility).
- SR-22 is NOT insurance; it is proof that you have a policy.
- Pay a driver’s license reinstatement fee.
- Fines range from $145 to $220.
Insurance Penalties: SR-22 and FR-44
After convictions of certain crimes and traffic violations, you may be required to take extra steps in certifying that you are compliant with VA’s financial responsibility laws. You’ll be required to do so by filing either an SR-22 or FR-44 certificate through your car insurance carrier.
If subject to this requirement, you must purchase car insurance, meaning you cannot pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee in lieu of holding a policy.
SR-22 certifications serve as proof that you are compliant with Virginia’s liability minimum requirements.
You may need to file an SR-22 after:
- A conviction of voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from a car accident.
- Falsifying your:
- Driver’s license.
- Car registration.
- Insurance information.
- A felony conviction involving a traffic law.
- A hit-and-run accident.
- Driving without insurance or without having paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee.
After a DUI conviction, you will be required to file an FR-44 certification. You may also be required to file one after:
- Maiming under the influence.
- Driving with a license that’s been forfeited as a result of a conviction.
The FR-44 will require you to purchase liability car insurance with increased limits, as follows:
- $50,000 for injuries per person, per accident.
- $100,000 for total injuries per accident.
- $40,000 for property damage.
Filing an SR-22 or FR-44 will result in higher rates. You can avoid these rate hikes by obeying the law and driving in a safe manner.
Determining Your VA Car Insurance Premium
Several factors go into determining your premium rates. These factors include:
- Your driving record.
- The make, model, and year of your car.
- Your age.
- Your credit score.
- The deductible.
- This is the amount of your claim you’re responsible for paying.
- The higher your deductible, the lower your premium.
Car Insurance Discounts
When you’re making a car insurance comparison, it helps to investigate any discounts you may be able to apply to your policy.
Most Virginia auto insurance companies offer discounts such as:
- Good driver discount.
- Good student discount.
- Anti-theft discount.
- Safety features (airbags) discount.
- Multi-car discount.
- Homeowners discount.
Discounts are a great way to get cheap car insurance rates. Combine your discounts with a driving record that reflects safe and violation-free driving, and you are well on your way to affordable car insurance rates.Choose a State:
Find Auto Insurance in Virginia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
Choose a County
- Alexandria City
- Buena Vista City
- Charles City
- Charlottesville City
- Chesapeake City
- Colonial Heights City
- Covington City
- Danville City
- Fairfax City
- Falls Church City
- Franklin City
- Fredericksburg City
- Galax City
- Hampton City
- Harrisonburg City
- Hopewell City
- Isle of Wight
- James City
- King And Queen
- King George
- King William
- Lexington City
- Lynchburg City
- Manassas City
- Manassas Park City
- Martinsville City
- New Kent
- Newport News City
- Norfolk City
- Norton City
Insurance Resource Center
- Petersburg City
- Poquoson City
- Portsmouth City
- Prince Edward
- Prince George
- Prince William
- Richmond City
- Roanoke City
- Staunton City
- Suffolk City
- Virginia Beach City
- Waynesboro City
- Williamsburg City
- Winchester City
- Shop For Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Insuring My Teen Driver: FAQs
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Auto Insurance Coverages
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
- DUI Costs and Car Insurance
Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Virginia Commercial Auto Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
- Virginia Motorcycle Insurance
Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- Six Common Car Insurance Myths
- Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
- No-Fault Insurance and Fault Insurance
- Car Insurance Quotes vs. Calculators
- Car Insurance FAQs
- Car Insurance Statute of Limitations
- Why Car Insurance Rates Go Up After Accidents
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims
- Damaging Your Own Property and Car Insurance Coverage
- Fraud and Theft
- Old Cars: Popular Targets of Theft
- Car Insurance Fraud 101
- Car Theft Prevention
- Most Stolen Cars and Other Vehicles
- Cities With the Highest Car Theft Rates
- Purchasing car insurance.